‘Women of Distinction’ honored by Miller

On Monday, Assemblyman Michael Miller honored six notable women leaders in honor of Women’s History Month.

“There are women who make an impact every day through volunteerism, engage with our youth, crating foundations and serving our community,” he said.

The following people were recipients of the New York State Assembly Women of Distinction Awards:

  • Arvelyn Batista, co-founder of AAMUS
  • Deokie Jagdeo, vice president of Beacon of Peace
  • Amelia Joseph, parent coordinator for PS 97 The Forest Park School
  • Natilia Sasha Khan, director of public relations for Beacon of Peace
  • Janine Mahon, chief operating officer of education for Greater Ridgewood Youth Council and president-elect of Kiwanis Club of Ridgewood
  • Assemblywoman Cathy Nolan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *